WMKY

A new economic forecast shows the recent uptick in coal production is expected to level out during the next two years and decline precipitously during the next two decades.

The annual coal production report, released today by West Virginia University’s Bureau of Business and Economic Research, shows the recent uptick in coal production will be short-lived.


At a Lexington conference, local and national experts are mapping out plans for a statewide bicycle and pedestrian advocacy network in Kentucky.

USA Today

The great American soul singer Aretha Franklin has died at the age of 76, her representative has said. She was reported to have been gravely ill with her family at her bedside.

“In one of the darkest moments of our lives, we are not able to find the appropriate words to express the pain in our heart. We have lost the matriarch and rock of our family. The love she had for her children, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, and cousins knew no bounds,” Franklin’s family said.

Paul Hitchcock

Construction is ongoing for the new slash pad in downtown Morehead. 

The City Council received an update on the $2-point-1 million dollar project during Monday night’s regular meeting. 

Council member Tom Carew says he doesn’t expect the project to be complete in time for the city’s Labor Day festivities…

britannica.com

August 16, 2018 -- American author of the enormously popular novel Gone With the Wind (1936). The novel earned Mitchell a National Book Award and a Pulitzer Prize, and it was the source of the classic film of the same name released in 1939.

biography.com

August 15, 2018 -- Napoléon Bonaparte was a French statesman and military leader who rose to prominence during the French Revolution and led several successful campaigns during the French Revolutionary Wars.

The Business Journals

Gov. Matt Bevin has signed an Open Investment Proclamation recognizing the significance of foreign direct investment (FDI) to Kentucky’s economy.  Approximately 7.4 percent of the state’s total employment is a result of FDI, and FDI is responsible for employing over 117,000 workers in the Commonwealth.

Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources

The Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Commission will conduct a special called meeting Aug. 17 in Frankfort to consider the fiscal year 2019 budget and other items.

The special called meeting will start at 1 p.m. EDT and will follow the Commission’s regular committee meetings, which are scheduled to start at 8:30 a.m. EDT.

The committee meetings and special called meeting will be held at the Arnold Mitchell Building on the campus of Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources headquarters in Frankfort.

Morehead State Public Radio (MSPR) General Manager Paul Hitchcock (88) has been named to the Commonwealth Council on Developmental Disabilities (CCDD). 

The mission of the CCDD is to strengthen education, inclusion and advocacy efforts for people with developmental disabilities to increase their involvement and engagement with the community. 
Hitchcock said he’s excited to start working with the council to improve the lives of those with developmental disabilities in Kentucky. 

MSU Athletics

Morehead State volleyball sophomore Lauren Rokey has been named Preseason All-OVC, the league announced Tuesday (Aug. 14)

The Eureka, Ill., native ranked among Ohio Valley Conference leaders in kills, ranking sixth in kills per set (3.13) and 10th in total kills (310). Rokey also ranked eighth in the league in points per set with 3.64 and 10th in total points with 360.5.

Pages

Fridays at 9am and 4pm on MSPR. Visit with newsmakers, artists, authors, politicians and public servants as we discuss the issues that are critical to our region.
In the tradition of "All Things Considered", "Morning Edition" and "The World", MSPR Radio presents "Mountain Edition".
Health Matters focuses on the health care needs of the mountain region. The weekly program is a co-production of MSPR and the Northeast Kentucky Area Health Education Center.