WMKY
Morehead State University

If there is ever a time where the expression “once an Eagle, always an Eagle” is accurate, it is during Morehead State University’s annual Homecoming Weekend. This year, thousands of MSU alumni ventured back to Morehead to reconnect with old classmates and friends while showing their love for the blue and gold.

Yamaha

Morehead State University Double Reed Day will be Saturday, Nov. 3, from 12:30 to 5 p.m. at Baird Music Hall. Registration begins at noon. 

A welcome recital by Dr. David Oyen and Dr. Thomas Pappas with William Murphy, piano, will kick off the event, followed by a day of performances, workshops and clinics, including:

Sponsored by the Vaccination League ("Don't be late, vaccinate!"), we reopen our discussion of cancer-sniffing dogs, review the "New Coke", analyze the Fitbit murder investigation, and (of course) explain how Russian Twitter Bots are trying to undermine our life-saving vaccination program.  The conversation is unusually lively, since our very own Health Matters RickBot is there to assist with the Health Matters website info.

www.michaelcrichton.com

October 23, 2018 -- John Michael Crichton was an American author, screenwriter, film director and producer best known for his work in the science fiction, thriller, and medical fiction genres. His books have sold over 200 million copies worldwide, and over a dozen have been adapted into films.

Changing Coal Communities and Overcoming Poverty in Appalachia

Oct 22, 2018

Jeannette Walls grew up poor in America. She wrote about it in her memoir "The Glass Castle," which has remained on the New York Times bestsellers list for more than eight years. She spent most of her childhood west of the Mississippi River, but her father, who was originally from West Virginia, eventually brought her family back to McDowell County, where she lived for four years. In this week’s episode of Inside Appalachia, we’ll listen back to an interview Jessica Lilly did with Walls in 2017, just before the movie inspired by her book was released in theaters. 


Pensions At The Polls: Will Concern Over Shaky Plans Show Up On Election Day?

Oct 22, 2018

Thousands of union coal miners and their families gathered this summer in Columbus, Ohio, wielding signs and wearing camouflage United Mine Workers of America shirts.

UMWA President Cecil Roberts led the crowd in a call-and-response chant.

“I want you to send a loud, clear signal that we are one! We are one!”

Could Bluegrass Become Part Of Tornado Alley?

Oct 22, 2018

A new study shows Tornado Alley is on the move with an increase in tornadic activities heading eastward, impacting areas more vulnerable and unprepared, including in Kentucky.

Road Trippers

An important bridge for motorists will be replaced at Natural Bridge State Resort Park, Gov. Matt Bevin announced today.

The project, a joint effort between the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet and the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, will allow for safer and more direct access to the park’s cottages, Woodland Center, swimming pool and Hoedown Island, a public area used for square dancing and other events.

WKYT

A 65-year-old Texas man was arrested Oct. 19 at the Lexington Blue Grass Airport after he traveled 900 miles to engage in what he thought was sex with two children under the age of 12, Attorney General Andy Beshear announced today. 

Beshear’s cyber investigators, Kentucky State Police and airport police intercepted and arrested Gregory Lee Hruby Friday night and charged him with four counts of unlawful use of electronic means originating or received within the Commonwealth of Kentucky to induce a minor to engage in sexual or other prohibited activities, all Class D felonies.

MSU Athletics

The Morehead State soccer team will partake in the Ohio Valley Conference Soccer Championship Tournament for the first time since 2015.

The Eagles will take on SIU Edwardsville in the opening round of the tournament on Friday at 2:00 p.m. ET at Eastern Kentucky's EKU Soccer Field in Richmond, Ky.

After starting the season with a 1-7 non-conference record, Morehead State won four OVC matches at home and finished with a 4-6 conference mark and gained 12 points to claim the eighth and final seed in the tournament.

Pages

A daily radio feature using general interest pieces, often of literary or historic significance.
Fridays at 9am and 4pm on MSPR. Visit with newsmakers, artists, authors, politicians and public servants as we discuss the issues that are critical to our region.
In the tradition of "All Things Considered", "Morning Edition" and "The World", MSPR Radio presents "Mountain Edition".
Health Matters focuses on the health care needs of the mountain region. The weekly program is a co-production of MSPR and the Northeast Kentucky Area Health Education Center.