© 2023 WMKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Robinson Up for National Player of the Year Award

MSU Athletics

Morehead State senior catcher Chris Robinson has been named a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, awarded to the top player in Division I baseball. The accolade is selected by members of the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

This is the 29th year of the Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Wednesday, June 10. The 2015 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, Neb., the home of the College World Series for the fifth year. The winner will be unveiled on MLBNetwork on Friday, June 12 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 13 at 11 a.m. ET, the opening day of the 2015 CWS.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-American shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985.

Robinson, a native of Uxbridge, Ontario, is one of 35 candidates up for the national honor.

Robinson leads the Ohio Valley Conference with a .419 batting average and also paces the league and ranks in the top five nationally in runs scored with 73. He is only six shy of the MSU single-season record for runs. In addition, he has clubbed 22 doubles, which would have tied the previous MSU single-season record, has nine home runs, five doubles and 65 RBI.

He sports a .685 slugging percentage and a .483 on-base percentage. Against Murray State Friday, Robinson hit for the "cycle" in game one of the doubleheader. He leads the team with 27 multi-hit games and 19 multi-RBI efforts.

Robinson was included earlier this season on the Johnny Bench Award Watch List, given to the nation's top catcher.

Morehead State will be the number-two seed for next week's Ohio Valley Conference Tournament and will receive a first-round bye.

Related Content