Five Women's Golfers Garner WGCA All-American Scholar Selections for the 2019-20 Season

Jun 29, 2020

Credit MSU Athletics

After posting the highest team spring semester (3.91) and 2019-20 academic year (3.82) grade point averages, Morehead State women's golf adds five Women's Golf Coaches Association All-American Scholars to the team's list of academic achievements during the 2019-20 season.

Senior Gypsie Hutchinson (Sport Management), redshirt junior Bridget Connolly (Psychology), sophomore Sarah Black (Sport Management), and freshmen MacKenzie Neal (Pre-Med/Biology) and Hailey Rietz (Pre-Med/Biology) each garnered All-American Scholar recognition from the WGCA. Overall, 19 Morehead State student-athletes have earned the honor a combined 40 times since returning to the course prior to the 2009-10 season.

A total of 1,401 women's collegiate golfers, including 29 from the Ohio Valley Conference, were bestowed the prestigious honor of being named a WGCA All-American Scholar. The distinction carries some of the most stringent selection criteria in all of college athletics, with athletes needing to carry a minimum grade point average of 3.50.

"Gypsie, Bridget, Sarah, MacKenzie, and Hailey work incredibly hard, on and off the golf course, and consistently make a positive impact on our program and university," said head coach Stephanie Barker. "They have proven to be exceptional student-athletes, earning both academic and athletic accolades. I am so proud of their efforts and appreciate all they do."

For Black, Connolly, and Hutchinson, the 2019-20 season marks the second selection as a WGCA All-American Scholar while Neal and Rietz's selections mark each's first career selections.

Morehead State's five total selections for the 2019-20 season ties the 2012-13 and 2015-16 seasons for the most selections in a single season in program history.


Gabriela Villalba Arias (2016)

Sarah Black (2019, 2020)

Sarah Boden (2017)

Bridget Connolly (2019, 2020)

Sarah Debnekoff (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018)

Emma Eksell (2010, 2011, 2012)

Gypsie Hutchinson (2019, 2020)

Emma Jonsson (2010, 2011, 2012)

Marisa Kamelgarn (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)

Anna Appert Lund (2013)

MacKenzie Neal (2020)

Jeanette Petersen (2015)

Sofia Pettersson (2011, 2012, 2013)

Katie Rice (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016)

Hailey Rietz (2020)

Linnea Scholin (2013, 2014, 2016)

Karolina Tunstig (2010)

Isabella Washka (2019)

Brittany Whatley (2016, 2017)