© 2022 WMKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Click here to become a member of Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY - 90.3FM)

Eagle Football Begins Spring Practices

fb.jpg
MSU Athletics
/

Coming off the program's best season in 10 years, Head Coach Rob Tenyer, his staff, and nearly 70 athletes on the Morehead State football team will open spring practices on Wednesday at Jayne Stadium at 3:30 p.m. ET.

All practices, unless otherwise noted, are open for the public to get a glimpse of the Eagles at work. MSU will practice on Wednesday and Thursday and then take the following week off for spring break before returning to work on March 29.

The spring game is set for Saturday, April 16 at 7 p.m. ET with the alumni game at 5 p.m. MSU will also take part in two live scrimmages on the two Saturday workout days (April 2 and April 9). There will be a free youth football clinic after the scrimmage on April 2 with more details to come on MSUEagles.com.

"We will focus on team identity and leadership, as well as getting better on both sides of the ball," said Head Coach Rob Tenyer. "We will be a bit younger than last year, but I think we are more athletic as well. We have quite a few players returning on offense, and I would like to see our defense work hard on getting better against the run this spring."

Offensive returnees include 2015 Pioneer Football League Offensive Player of the Year quarterback Austin Gahafer, All-PFL linemen Liam Maloney and C.J. Phillips and all-conference slot receiver Jake Raymond.

On defense, all-league linebacker Ryan Bennett and All-PFL lineman Colt Briggs return.

Tenyer and staff also welcome back more than 20 players who were true freshmen last season, many of whom used the year to gain knowledge as redshirts.

The spring practice schedule is listed below (all workouts are at Jayne Stadium)

Wednesday, March 16 – 3:30-6 p.m.

Thursday, March 17 – 7-9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 29 – 3:30-6 p.m.

Thursday, March 31 – 7-9:30 p.m.

Friday, April 1 – 3:30-6 p.m.

Saturday, April 2 – 10:30 a.m.-1 p.m. (Scimmage)

Sunday, April 3 – 1:30-3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 5 – 3:30-6 p.m.

Thursday, April 7 – 7-9:30 p.m.

Friday, April 8 – 3:30-6 p.m.

Saturday, April 9 – 10:30 a.m.-1 p.m. (Scimmage)

Sunday, April 10 – 1:30-3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 12 – 3:30-6 p.m.

Thursday, April 14 – 7-9:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 16 – SPRING GAME – 7 p.m. - ALUMNI game - 5 p.m.

Related Content