© 2022 WMKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Click here to become a member of Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY - 90.3FM)

FEMA May Open Additional Disaster Recovery Centers in Kentucky


The Federal Emergency Management Agency will be opening more disaster recovery centers in Kentucky this week. Spokesman Tim Tyson says exactly where those offices will be has not yet been determined.

“The Commonwealth and FEMA are in constant discussion about which counties to open-up next and where to open them.”

Last week, FEMA opened centers in Richmond, Louisa, Grayson and Louisville. The offices are a response to flooding and mudslides that occurred in Kentucky in early April. The storms caused President Obama to declare ten counties federal disaster areas. Rowan, Carter, Bath, Elliott and Lawrence are among them.

According to the latest figures from Federal Emergency Management Agency, almost 800 victims of last month’s storms in Kentucky have registered for assistance. A press release from the agency indicates that nearly a million dollars has been approved to help them with their recovery across the Commonwealth.  Three-fourths of the amount is for housing assistance.

The regional registrations are as follows:

16 in Bath County

66 in Carter County

17 in Elliott County

58 in Lawrence County

39 in Rowan County 

Related Content