© 2022 WMKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Click here to become a member of Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY - 90.3FM)

Voice of the Eagles Chuck Mraz Set to Be Inducted Into KBA Hall of Fame


Longtime Morehead State Public Radio news director, and voice of Morehead State football and men's basketball Chuck Mraz has been chosen by The Kentucky Broadcaster's Association as a 2022 recipient of the Kentucky Mic award.

The Kentucky Mic is presented to individuals who have made outstanding personal contributions to the broadcasting profession in Kentucky. Since this award is considered to be the highest given by the KBA, recipients are immediately inducted into the KBA Hall of Fame.

Mraz is a 1978 graduate of Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, where he was a reporter with WSIU-FM, WSIU-TV, WIDB Radio, and did two years play by play and color for SIU football and men's basketball.

Between 1978 to 1986, he held various on air and sales positions at WKRS (Waukegan, Illinois), WHCO (Sparta, Illinois), WKZN (Zion, Illinois) and WXAN (Ava, Illinois).

In 1986, Mraz joined the Morehead State Public Radio news and sports team, spending 23 years as assistant news director and news director and 17 years as host of "The Front Page" talk show. Before retiring from WMKY in 2018, he had trained more than 600 news student interns.

Although he has retired from full time broadcast duties, he remains the play by play voice of MSU football and men's basketball, a seat he has filled for 35 years. Since 2014, he has been a big part of the KHSAA Girls' "Sweet 16" radio network.

Prior to receiving the KBA Kentucky Mic Award, he received more than 40 other broadcast awards Including "Best Sportscast", "Best Newscast" "Best Radio Anchor", and "Best Play by Play" from the Associated Press, the 2016 East Kentucky Leadership Foundation's Media and Technology award and the 2016-17 Ohio Valley Conference Media Award.

In addition to Mraz, the 2022 KBA Hall of Fame class includes WKYT-TV sports anchor Dave Baker and WAVE-TV meteorologist Dave Belski. All of the 2022 Legacy Awards recipients will be celebrated during "An Evening of Broadcast Excellence", Monday September 26th at the KBA's Annual Conference in Owensboro.