© 2023 WMKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Kentucky Historical Society honors 14 individuals and organizations at the Annual History Awards

Kentucky Historical Society

The Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) is recognizing fourteen individuals and organizations for their contributions to the field of history at the annual Kentucky History Awards celebration on Nov. 6.

This year’s winners represent communities from across Kentucky in categories that include a range of disciplines from education to publication, along with special awards named after some of the commonwealth’s greatest historians.  Special awards include the Frank Levstik Award, the James C. Klotter Lifetime Dedication to Kentucky History, and the Thomas D. Clark Award of Excellence.

“The annual Kentucky History Awards program not only recognizes outstanding achievements in Kentucky history, it demonstrates vibrant connections across the state, with our members, colleagues, and communities,” says KHS Executive Director Scott Alvey.  “By celebrating their great work, we elevate the fundamental role Kentucky history plays in all corners of the commonwealth.  History surrounds us in all that we do, and we continue to be inspired by the award winner’s quality contributions.”

The 2020 History Award winners are as follows:

•    Thomas D. Clark Award of Excellence – Traces, Enslaved at Ashland

•    Klotter Lifetime Achievement Award – Sandy Staebell, WKU Archives

•    Levstick Award for Professional Service – Tommy Hines, South Union Shaker Village

•    Award of Distinction – Tim Tomes, Archdiocese of Louisville

•    Gilder Lehrman History Teacher of the Year Award – Jami McCoy Allen, Eastern High School

•    Community Impact Award – Clay County Historical Society

•    Volunteer Group Award – William Whitley House Volunteers, Lincoln County Historical Society

•    Programming Award – “Journey to the Vote,” Western Kentucky University & community partners

•    Multimedia Award – Podcast:  “Compelling History of an American Other,” Rebekah Brummett, South Union Shaker Village 

•    Special Project Award – Podcast:  “Murder, Memory, and Martyrdom: The Assassination of Governor William Goebel,” Jonathon L. Earle, Centre College

•    Collins Award – Dr. Crystal N. Feimster, Yale University

•    Private Press Award – Mel Hankla, Hitchens KY

•    Pamphlet/other Printed Material – Journal of the Jackson Purchase Historical Society

•    Publication – Katherine Jackson French: Kentucky’s Forgotten Ballad Collector, Elizabeth DiSavino, University Press

The awards will be presented at the Kentucky Historical Society’s annual meeting and History Awards celebration on Friday, Nov. 6, 2020. 

This virtual program will stream live on the KHS You Tube channel, featuring both live and pre-recorded segments. The program will be posted on all KHS media outlets following the event.

For more information about the Kentucky Historical Society, visit http://www.history.ky.gov

(provided by the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet)

Paul Hitchcock earned his Masters in Communications from Morehead State University and Bachelors in Radio-TV/Psychology from Georgetown College. A veteran broadcaster for more than 40 years and an avid fan of blues, jazz and American roots music. Hitchcock has been with WMKY since 1986 and was named General Manager in 2003. He currently hosts "Muddy Bottom Blues" (Fri., 8pm-9pm), "Nothin' But The Blues" (Sat., 8pm-12am), "Sunday Night Jazz Showcase" and "Live From The Jazz Lounge" (Sun., 8pm-9pm) and "The Golden Age of Radio" (Sun., 2pm-3pm). He also serves as producer for "A Time For Tales" and "The Reader's Notebook."