© 2023 WMKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

‘Bluegrass Biennial’ on Display Through Aug. 24

Morehead State University

Showcasing the wealth of visual art in Kentucky, "The Bluegrass Biennial: A Kentucky Juried Exhibition" will be on exhibit through Aug. 24 at Morehead State University’s main gallery of the Claypool-Young Art Building.

A closing reception and juror’s talk will be held Wednesday, Aug. 24, from 5-7 p.m.

Lindsey Maestri, an artist, curator and arts administrator based in Paducah, was the exhibition juror. She is the executive director at the Yeiser Art Center.

Inspired by both the quality and quantity of visual art created in the state, the exhibition seeks to display the range of artistic production from across the Commonwealth. The strength of the exhibition truly rests in its diversity, from the types of artists included which run from self-taught to graduates of Master of Fine Art programs, to the range of artwork media and style on display.

The exhibition has four artwork awards selected by the juror for aesthetic excellence, and include the following:

Best in Show Award: Deborah Levine, Louisville; Destruct/Reconstruct, 2013; handmade embossed paper, 16.5 x 55;"

Merit Award: David Bartlett, Morehead; Cell II, 2015; Digital photo/inkjet print, 40 x 30;”

Merit Award: Steve Heine, Louisville; Lucent Cloud, 2016; Steel sheet (laser cut and folded), hand blown sheet glass, poplar, 18 x 18 x 2.”

The 36 accepted artists include: Dobree Adams, Frankfort; David Bartlett, Morehead; Rachael Burriss, Alexandria; Susan Crum-Cox, Lebanon; Brad Devlin, Louisville; Gweneth Dunleavy, Louisville; Sean Fitzgerald, Louisville; Elizabeth Foley, Lexington; Linda Fugate-Blumer, Lexington; Beverly Gabbard, Morehead; Jamie Green, Lexington; Jennifer Hart, Lexington; Steve Heine, Louisville; Virgil Henle, Louisville; Charlsa Hensley, Berea; Cynthia Ryan Kelly, Lexington; Deborah Levine, Louisville;

Larry May, Clay City; Mike McCarthy, Louisville; Barry Motes, Prospect; Elizabeth Neal, Crescent Springs; Rachael Patterson, Louisville; Marti Plager, Louisville; Claire Pope, Springfield; Martha Puckett, Louisville; Fran Redmon, Frankfort; Patricia B. Seggebruch, Lexington; De Selby, Nicholasville; Brandon C. Smith, Lexington; Hunter Stamps, Lexington; Tonya Vance, Lexington; Cathy Vigor, Lexington; Amy Welborn, Crestwood; Lindsey Windland, Berea; and Jenny Zeller, Louisville.

The event is sponsored by the art gallery, MSU’s Claypool-Young art gallery, Department of Art and Design and Arts and Humanities Council.

Scheduled for the summer of 2018, the next Bluegrass Biennial will again invite a juror from Kentucky to curate an exhibition representing the contemporary spirit of art in the Commonwealth.

The Claypool-Young art gallery, an educational resource of the art and design department and the University, features contemporary art for the Morehead State University community and its service region. The gallery, open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. or by appointment, is free and open to the public. Parking is available on Main Street and across campus after 5 p.m.

Additional information is available by calling Jennifer Reis, gallery director, at 606-783-5446.

Related Content