Public input sought for developing highway project goals for disadvantaged businesses

May 22, 2019

Credit Chamber Coalition

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) is seeking public input on proposed Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) goals to ensure certified businesses can compete fairly for federally-funded transportation projects.

The Cabinet’s Office for Civil Rights and Small Business Development (OCRSBD) is developing an annual DBE participation goal, in collaboration with the Federal Highway Administration. Once approved, the goal will be in effect for three years beginning Oct. 1, 2020.

The 2020 goals and methodology will be available online at http://transportation.ky.gov/Civil-Rights-and-Small-Business-Development

Information is also available by calling 1-502-564-3601 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EDT.

The comment period will be from June 21 through July 22.

Written comments can be submitted online or mailed to:

Melvin Bynes

Office for Civil Rights and Small Business Development

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet

200 Mero Street

Frankfort, Ky 40622

The OCRSBD will host forums during June in several of the cabinet’s 12 highway districts to explain the proposed goals and how they were established.

“Setting Disadvantaged Business Enterprise goals when awarding federally-funded transportation projects encourages an equitable playing field for certified businesses that have historically been underrepresented in the industry,” said OCRSBD Executive Director Jamir Davis. “We welcome all interested parties to attend a public meeting to provide feedback on the proposed goals and to learn how we establish fair goals.”

The OCRSD is committed to ensuring equal employment opportunity, a diverse workforce and the promotion of equitable business opportunities throughout Kentucky.

Meetings will be held in KYTC Department of Highways District offices (excluding Covington) on the following dates (all times are local):

Thursday, June 6

District 1 Office, 10 a.m.         5501 Kentucky Dam Rd Paducah, Ky 42003

District 2 Office, 1:30 p.m.     1840 North Main Street Madisonville, Ky 42431

Friday, June 7 

District 4 Office,  11 a.m.   634 East Dixie in Elizabethtown, Ky 42701

District 3 Office, 1 p.m.   900 Morgantown Road, Bowling Green, Ky 42102

Tuesday, June 11

District 7 Office, 11 a.m.     763 West New Circle Road, Lexington, Ky 40511

District 9 Office,  2 p.m.      822 Elizaville Ave., Flemingsburg, Ky 41041

Wednesday, June 12

Fifth Center Building, 2:30 p.m.   525 W. Fifth St., Suite 214, Covington Ky 41011

Thursday, June 13

District 8 Office, 10:30 a.m.    1660 South U.S. 27, Somerset, Ky 42502

Friday, June 14

District 12 Office, 1:30 p.m. 109 Loraine St., Pikeville, Ky 41501

Thursday, June 20

District 5 Office, 1:30 p.m.   8310 Westport Road, Louisville, Ky 40242              

(provided by Commonwealth of Kentucky Transportation Cabinet)