Eagle Scholars program trains 2019-20 instructors

Jun 21, 2019

Participants in the Eagle Scholar teacher training session represented schools from across the Commonwealth. Thirty-three teachers attended the event. Pictured with the instructors are Dr. Mark Graves, professor of English; Dr. Chris Schroeder, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics and Physics; and Joel Pace, director of the Eagle Scholars program.
Credit Morehead State University

University and high school faculty members teaching in the Eagle Scholars program participated in a summer meeting Wednesday, June 12, at the Adron Doran University Center (ADUC). 

The morning’s activities began with several informative presentations. Joel Pace, director of the Eagle Scholars program, offered attendees an overview of the program. Other topics and presenters were:

Faculty 180 and general assessment, Dr. Mark Graves, professor of English.

Blackboard, David Flora, director of Distance Education and Instructional Design.

Textbook information, Julie Ferguson, assistant general manager of the University Store.

Camden-Carroll Library, Bridget Whitt, librarian for distance education and dual credit.

After lunch at the Rocky Adkins Dining Complex, the afternoon featured faculty breakout groups, meetings with school officials from participating high schools and a presentation on plagiarism. Instructors had the opportunity to tour campus and learn more about Morehead State.

Pace said it was important for teachers to attend the meeting because it helped them learn about curriculum changes within their academic departments, remain up to date on administrative processes and meet other Eagle Scholar teachers from across the state.

“This is the one time each year we ask them to come to Morehead State,” Pace said. “It also allows MSU to showcase new programs and facilities and to allow students to demonstrate college-level learning by completing college courses.” 

Teachers participating in the Eagle Scholars summer program and the schools they represent include: 

Chris Akin, North Oldham High School

Ramona Bellew, Paul Blazer High School

Charity Burriss, Lewis County High School

Courtney Butcher, Sheldon Clark High School

Tamara Cady, Simon Kenton High School

Dan Combs, Wolfe County High School

Catherine Del Valle, Russell High School

Alaina Green, North Oldham High School

Kellyn Gussler, Rowan County Senior High School

Charles Hooper, Bullitt Central High School

Krystal Howard, Montgomery County High School

Mary Johnson, Raceland High School

Margaret Klee, St. Patrick High School

Barbara Leach, Phelps High School

Angela Lockhart, Pike Central High School

Austin Maples, Montgomery County High School

Samantha McCann, Lewis County High School

Terri McConda, Russell High School

Anita Montgomery, Bullitt Central High School

Jennifer Perry, Russell High School

Tamela Porter, Bath County High School

Pamela Puryear, Lawrence County High School

John Ramey, Bath County High School

Chad Rudd, Wolfe County High School

Art Scrivener, Eminence High School

Kim Sexton, Raceland High School

Melissa Shearer, Henry County High School

Zenaida Smith, Raceland High School

Melinda Thompson, West Carter High School

Rachelle Thompson, Bath County High School

Phillip Traina, Russell High School

Samuel Whitehead, Rowan County Senior High School

Melissa Williams, Bullitt Central High School

The Eagle Scholars program allows qualifying high school students to take college classes for dual credit. Students in the program can complete their first year of college while they finish high school, without ever setting foot on a college campus.  

To qualify, students must attend a participating partner high school, must have a GPA of 3.0 or better and must have a minimum ACT composite score of 18. 

For more information, visit http://www.moreheadstate.edu/eaglescholars, call 606-783-2534 or email ecp@moreheadstate.edu.