District 9 Work Zones April 6-10; Road Closures, Flagged Traffic, Delays

Apr 6, 2020

Credit Pic 2 Fly

Motorists should expect state highway work zones in the following locations in District 9 (Kentucky) this week, April 6 – 10, 2020:


•KY 1106 (Mount Pleasant Road) in Bath County, road closed at milepoint 3.3 just east of the Sanderson Road intersection near Bethel, bridge being rebuilt. Detour using KY 36 and KY 11 through Sharpsburg and Bethel.


•Eastbound I-64 in Boyd County, right lane closed between Cannonsburg and Catlettsburg, mile markers 188-191, for embankment repairs and cleanup through Friday, April 10, weather permitting.


•KY 32 in Fleming County, lane closures and flagged traffic for roadway rehab and paving between Goddard and the Rowan County line (mile markers 18-28), from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily; speed limit 45 mph.


•KY 9 (AA Highway) at Grayson Spur in Lewis County, roadway shoulders closed and occasional flagged traffic for intersection safety improvements; speed limit 45 mph. Watch for trucks entering and leaving roadway.

•KY 1068 (Laurel Creek) in Lewis County, work zone just west of Deep Hole Branch (milepoint 1.7), bridge replacement with adjacent creek crossing detour.


•US 68 over Lawrence Creek in Mason County, mile marker 17, bridge repairs, traffic in narrow lanes with barrier walls, speed limit 35 mph. No wide loads or overweight vehicles.

•Davis Lane in Mason County closed over the North Fork of the Licking River, bridge replacement. Detour using KY 1237 (Bridgeport Road), KY 1234 (Mt. Carmel Road), Polecat Pike and Dixon Pike.

•Simon Kenton Memorial Bridge (US 62) at Maysville in Mason County, bridge closed for repairs through April 15, or until complete. Detour via US 68 and William Harsha Bridge.


•KY 32 in Nicholas County, one-lane flagged traffic at milepoint 10 just east of Lake Road at Carlisle for embankment repairs, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. daily.

Motorists should also watch for crews performing daily maintenance activities such as pothole patching, ditching, mowing and other repairs on state highways in Kentucky Department of Highways District 9’s service area of Bath, Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas and Rowan counties.

Road work schedules are subject to change depending on weather conditions. Motorists are asked to heed all warning signs, slow-down in work zones and remain aware of workers and construction equipment when traveling.

(provided by Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, District 9)