WMKY

Creativity Abounds – Berea to Host Learnshops

Jul 6, 2019

Credit Berea Public Art

The Kentucky Artisan Center expands their creative offerings in July to include 29 workshops as part of Berea’s citywide Festival of Learnshops July 12-30, 2019.

Twenty-nine different workshops will be offered including printmaking, painting, drawing, stone carving, Bavarian Folk Art painted boxes, gourd art, scratchboard art, cornshuck dolls and flowers, woodworking, textile stitching, jewelry and basketry.

Below is a list of Learnshops being offered at the Center beginning on Saturday, July 12:

Friday, July 12

·         Printmaking with Color – with Liz Foley - FULL

Saturday, July 13

·         Six Drawing Techniques – with Neil Di Teresa

·         Stone Carving with Hand Tools – with Mike McCarthy

Sunday, July 14

·         Watercolor Iris – with Pat Banks

·         Bavarian Folk Art Painted Boxes – with Christa Smith

Monday, July 15

·         Creating Gourd Art – with Donna Smith

·         Intro to Scratchboard – with Kathy Conroy - FULL

Tuesday, July 16

·         Monotype Printmaking Basics – with Marta Dorton

·         Cornshuck Doll/Angel – with Mary Reed

·         Cornshuck Flowers – with Mary Reed

Wednesday, July 17

·         Nesting Shaker Boxes – with Will Bondurant - FULL

·         Beginning Watercolor – with Bill Berryman

·         Drawing Botanicals – with Laura Poulette

Thursday, July 18

·         Nesting Shaker Boxes – (day 2) with Will Bondurant - FULL

·         Drawing with Pencil and Pen – with Bill Berryman

·         Intro to Watercolors – with Laura Poulette

Friday, July 19

·         Three Crown Boxes – with Will Bondurant

·         Botanical Letters – with Laura Poulette

Saturday, July 20

·         Three Crown Boxes – (day 2) with Will Bondurant

·         Sashiko & Boro Stitched Textiles – (2 sessions) with Vallorie Henderson

Sunday, July 21

·         Mixed Media Monotypes – with Marta Dorton

Monday, July 22

·         Mixed Media Monotypes – (day 2) with Marta Dorton

·         Bracelet and Earring Basics – with Linda Stephenson

Thursday, July 25

·         Clara’s Bread Basket – with Jan Treesh

Friday, July 26

·         Step Basket – with Jan Treesh

·         Bead & Button Necklace & Earring – with Linda Stephenson

Saturday, July 27

·         Appalachian Dough Bowl – with Ron McWhorter

·         Polymer Clay Cane Bead Bracelets – with Diana Smith-Thomas

Monday, July 29

·         Gourd Art for Kids & Family – with Donna Smith

Tuesday, July 30

·         Farmer’s Market Tote Basket – with Beth Hester

·         Polymer Clay Cane Bead Bracelets – with Diana Smith-Thomas

The Kentucky Artisan Center is located just off I-75 at Berea Exit 77.

The Center is open daily from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and offers traveler services, shopping, exhibits and Saturday artist demonstrations.

The Artisan Café & Grill is open for breakfast and lunch from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Kentucky Artisan Center is an agency in the Tourism, Arts & Heritage Cabinet of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. For more information, visit http://kentuckyartisancenter.ky.gov

(provided by Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet)