WMKY

The daily lowdown on books, publishing, and the occasional author behaving badly.

Home Prices Post Biggest Jump Since 2006

May 28, 2013

Home prices in major cities across the nation were up 10.9 percent in March from March 2012, the biggest year-over-year increase since April 2006, according to the data trackers who put together the S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price Indices.

Their surveys show that:

-- While prices rose 10.9 percent on average across 20 metropolitan areas, the strongest gains were in Phoenix (22.5 percent), San Francisco (22.2 percent) and Las Vegas (20.6 percent).

Baby Is Rescued From Building's Sewage Pipe In China

May 28, 2013

A baby boy in China has been safely rescued from a sewage pipe after the abandoned newborn had become lodged in an apartment building's public toilet system. A resident heard the infant's cries, and firefighters cut out a portion of pipe containing the boy. That section was then rushed to the hospital, where the baby was carefully removed.

Authorities are treating the disturbing incident as an attempted homicide and were still looking for the baby's parents. As for his medical condition, the boy is reportedly stable, but with severe bruising and some cuts.

President Obama often tells audiences that he has waged his last campaign. But that's not exactly true.

The White House is gearing up for a massive campaign this summer that will cover all 50 states, plus Washington, D.C. And the president's legacy may hinge on whether it succeeds or fails.

This installment of the Latin Roots series for World Cafe explores bossa nova music, guided by Latin-music expert Ernesto Lechner. Lechner grew up in Buenos Aires, where his parents' record collection consisted of classical records and a solitary bossa nova LP. He later moved to Los Angeles, where he was immersed in Latin music and subsequently became a music journalist, publishing several books on the subject. Lechner co-hosts the radio show Latin Alternative and works as a contributing writer for Rolling Stone, L.A.

Pages

A daily radio feature using general interest pieces, often of literary or historic significance.
Fridays at 9am and 4pm on MSPR. Visit with newsmakers, artists, authors, politicians and public servants as we discuss the issues that are critical to our region.
In the tradition of "All Things Considered", "Morning Edition" and "The World", MSPR Radio presents "Mountain Edition".
Health Matters focuses on the health care needs of the mountain region. The weekly program is a co-production of MSPR and the Northeast Kentucky Area Health Education Center.